Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson #2) by Patricia Briggs

Blood Bound

Synopsis:

Under the rule of science, there are no witch burnings allowed, no water trials or public lynchings. In return, the average law-abiding, solid citizen has little to worry about from the things that go bump in the night. Sometimes I wish I was an average citizen…

Mechanic Mercy Thompson has friends in low places-and in dark ones. And now she owes one of them a favor. Since she can shapeshift at will, she agrees to act as some extra muscle when her vampire friend Stefan goes to deliver a message to another of his kind.

But this new vampire is hardly ordinary-and neither is the demon inside of him.

My thoughts:

This is the second book in the series and I can honestly say I’m hooked. I absolutely love Mercy, she is such a strong smart and witty , kick ass heroine. Nothing keep her down for long.

This time she has to deal with the vampires and it is not pretty, it does not help that the werewolves are on edge as well and many losing their temper and the wolf takes over. She doesn’t trust the Vampire and yet has to work for/with them to safe the human and the supernatural form a vampire that is possessed by a demon. One of them would be bad enough but a combo of the two is almost too much. Like that would not be enough to deal with, she also has to deal with her feelings for Adam and Sam.

Of course. Mercy would not be mercy if she would not get herself in trouble, but luckily she has some good friends that help her. But she had to do some stuff in this book that might change her forever or the way she thinks.

I found that I really didn’t care much for Sam in the last book, but he seems a little better to tolerate this book. I’m still team Adam all the way.

I really dislike the Vampire Queen and hope she will be “taken care off” in the future books. Maybe Stefan can take over, that would be a nice twist.

This is a fast paced book with lots of action and lots of surprises that keep you glued to the book and on the edge of your seat.

Overall, I REALLY enjoyed this book and can’t wait to read the next in the series. I’m really curious to see what Mercy gets herself into next and if she chooses either Sam or Adam. I’m not a fan of love triangles and hope she knows soon who (if someone) she will choose and I don’t have to wait 5 books.

I give this book 4 ½ ★

Some of my favorite quotes:

“So in the sweltering heat of a July night, I sang a Christmas carol to a room full of fae, who had been driven out of their homelands by Christians and their cold-iron swords.”

***

“Damn it” I said “I don’t suppose you have any ideas on how to kill Littleton” He smiled at me, his teeth very white in the darkness of his face “Eat him” he said.”

***

“I like what you’ve done to your face,” Ben said, tapping his eye.”

***

“If I ever become a serial murderer, I’ll be very careful to kill people in a pattern that centres around a police station – and not my home or work.”

***

“A man who will risk nothing for love is not a man “

***

Available NOW:

    

Leave a Reply

